Senator Mike Morrell Announces 2016 Women of Distinction

Annual recognition ceremony to be held October 7
Friday, September 16, 2016

Senator Mike Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga) today announced the list of finalists selected for the 12th Annual Women of Distinction Ceremony and Dinner. The evening will highlight the work of 45 women from throughout the 23rd Senate District who make a difference in their communities.

“The women we honor each year are all held in the highest esteem by family, friends, and colleagues,” said Morrell. “They represent the best of the 23rd Senate District and it is my privilege to shine a spotlight on their successes and willingness to serve others.”

Each year, the Women of Distinction Ceremony showcases the service of women from throughout the region who, because of their volunteerism and efforts in the community, have been nominated by their peers and loved ones for this recognition. Finalists are selected by a panel of previous Women of Distinction honorees.

The ceremony continues a legislative tradition that began in 1987 that includes weekly recognitions of women’s accomplishments by both the Senate and Assembly. It is also an opportunity to discuss legislative and public policy issues.

The 2016 Women of Distinction Ceremony will also honor two individuals chosen by the panel as Women of the Year – Deni Antionette Mazingo of Riverside County and Sara Hector of San Bernardino County. 

The event will be held on Friday, October 7, at the Goldy S. Lewis Community Center located in Rancho Cucamonga’s Central Park (11200 Baseline Rd., 91730). Doors open at 6:00 p.m.

Space is limited. For more details or information on how to attend, contact Melissa Boyd at (909) 581-9473 or

For the complete list of honorees, click here.