Senator Mike Morrell Announces 2015 Women of Distinction

Annual recognition ceremony to be held in October
Thursday, August 13, 2015

SACRAMENTO – Senator Mike Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga) has announced the list of honorees selected for the 11th Annual Women of Distinction Ceremony and Dinner. The evening will highlight the work of 44 women from throughout the 23rd Senate District who make a positive difference in their communities. 

"It's a privilege every year to honor women from around the Inland Empire who demonstrate a deep commitment to their friends, family, and the community at large," said Morrell. "Their service is a testament to the strength of our region. I'm grateful for the work they do."

Each year, the Women of Distinction Ceremony showcases the service of women from throughout the region. Awardees are nominated by members of the public from business leaders to colleagues and friends. Finalists are selected by a panel of previous Women of Distinction honorees.

Acknowledging remarkable women for their contributions to California has been an annual legislative tradition since 1987. Celebrations include weekly recognitions of women's accomplishments on the floors of both houses and the passage of resolutions commemorating Women's History Month (this year's was Senate Resolution 13). The local event will also be an opportunity to discuss public policy issues and future legislation.

This year's ceremony will highlight the work of two "Women of the Year" – Sally Myers of Riverside County and Maribel Brown of San Bernardino County. 

Please note: The date and location of this ceremony and dinner has changed. It will now be held on Friday, October 16, at the Orton Center on the University of Redlands Campus (1200 E. Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92373). Doors open at 5:00 p.m.

Space is limited. For more details or information on how to attend, contact Melissa Boyd at (909) 581-9473 or

For the complete list of honorees, click here.

Senator Mike Morrell represents the 23rd Senate District in the California Legislature, which includes portions of San Bernardino, Riverside, and Los Angeles counties. Follow him on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

# # #